Tomato Batata: Potato and Tomato Curry

I am not the biggest fan of potatoes, unless of course they are deep fried and served with ketchup and a little mustard. In fact usually when I see potatoes I immediately get a deep yearning for French fries (or chips as they say here). But the Kiwi loves potatoes and having 3 medium-sized potatoes leftover in our pantry, I thought I would make this potato with tomato dish that was a weekly regular in our house when I was growing up.

This is a tasty and quick dish to make. You begin with chopping the potatoes into small squares. This dish uses very little to no water so you want the potatoes small enough that they will cook through in almost no water. The bigger you cut them the more stressful the cooking. Having said that, I once had this dish at someone’s house where the cook had cut the potatoes into teeny tiny squares. It wasn’t nice. So I cut mine a little bigger. Bring on the stress, I say.

You can make this dish with eggplant and tomatoes. Just add the eggplant in when you add in the tomatoes. However, neither I nor the Kiwi like eggplant that much so I stuck with just tomatoes.

You can add onions and garlic after you finish frying the cumin. You can also swop out the cumin for black mustard seeds. The possibilities with this dish are endless. We always have this with rotli or some other type of Indian bread. I just had it with brown pita bread because I was too lazy to make rotli.

I made this with 2 of the medium-sized potatoes we had in our pantry and then quickly chopped up the other remaining potato into long thin strips, fried the strips in shallow oil and then baked in a hot oven. I ate the result with ketchup and a little bit of mustard. This is Kiwi’s fool-proof French fry recipe and I must say it was heaven.

Recipe

2 medium potatoes, chopped

2 c tomatoes, chopped

1 ½ t oil

½ t whole cumin

¼ t turmeric

1 ¼ t salt

1 t sugar

1 t garam masala

Place oil in a non-stick pan over high heat, add cumin. Roast until cumin are turning slightly brown (if you are using mustard seeds wait until they start popping). Add the potatoes. Stir and cover tightly. Keep checking on the potatoes. You want them to be nice and brown on the outside and almost cooked through. If they start sticking then add a tablespoon of water and then re-cover the pan. Once potatoes have browned, add turmeric, salt and sugar. Stir once. Add tomatoes. Cook until the tomatoes are reduced into a sauce. Add the garam masala. Cook for another few minutes. Serve with any kind of flatbread.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tomato Batata: Potato and Tomato Curry

  1. Mom & Dad says:

    Good one. When you come here next time make one here.

  2. Katherine says:

    Yum! This is making me hungry as I sit in the Bogota airport waiting for my 1am flight to Miami!

  3. Ashmita says:

    Everything you send makes me feel that your one of my favorite Masi’s.

Leave a Reply

